1970

THE DAY THAT EVERYTHING STARTED

Pierre Balthazar was born in 1970 in Huy, the location of the finishing line for the Flèche Wallonne and the Salon du Vin et de la Gastronomie.

1984

A DREAM EMERGES

At the age of 14 Pierre saw the possibility of a career as a chef while leafing through a “folder of different professions” put together by his father and intended for his older brother. He was seduced by the manual and creative aspect of this profession.

1988

THE FIRST SIGNS

Pierre Balthazar was studying at the CERIA during this year and it was here that he set himself the goal of becoming F&B Manager of the Hilton Hotel now called THE HOTEL!

1992

THE REALISATION OF A DREAM

Pierre was taken on at Seagrill by Yves Mattagne. In his role as assistant chef, he discovered the culinary world in which he wanted to forge his career. A world of beauty. Of accuracy. Of technical prowess.

1994

A FEW STEPS IN THE WORLD OF EVENTS

Pierre acquired experience of the world of events catering with “L’Assiette Gourmande” where he worked with two Michelin star chefs. Thanks to his experience here, he acquired great resourcefulness and the capacity to supply high volume, high-quality gastronomic dishes.

1996

HOTEL CUISINE

26 years old and already poised on an incredible career as executive chef in the hotel sector. Pierre Balthazar’s career took him all over the Benelux and to Germany. He studied German and in one month was able to recite 50 phrases specific to the trade that enabled him to learn the local methods, rigour and discipline.

1999

THE FIRST TROPHIES

Eager to test his skills against those of other great chefs, Pierre took part in different competitions. He made it to 1st place in the Concours National and 4th place in the Prix Culinaire International de Taittinger.

2002

SUCCESS

Pierre made it to 3rd place in the national Bocuse d’Or.

2003

THE SECRET DECADE

On 2 January 2003, Pierre Balthazar was named Executive Chef of the kitchens of the European Council – a position he held for 10 years far away from the flashlights of the media for security reasons. During this decade, Pierre made a great number of new encounters. He took pleasure in sharing his kitchen. His thirst for openness to other culinary cultures was insatiable. In 2009, he thought up, designed and proposed an exchange programme to the Council involving working with major international Michelin star chefs. The suggestion was accepted and was a great hit. The initiative introduced by Pierre Balthazar added a new dimension to the notion of sharing based on outstanding quality and great humility – all of which took place in the kitchens of power and at European summits.

2013

« THE RESTAURANT by Pierre Balthazar »

Pierre Balthazar created an innovative concept within THE HOTEL that was unique in its genre and that combined culinary variations on nine seasonal products interpreted personally by two guest chefs from different cultural worlds.

2017

The cuisine of the moment

For Pierre, cooking has always been a way of sharing. Sharing his culinary creations, but more specifcally sharing at the table. It is precisely around the table that he will drive the new ideas he wants to share…

1970

LE JOUR OU TOUT A COMMENCE

Pierre Balthazar naît en 1970 à Huy, ville de l’arrivée de la Flèche wallonne et du salon du Vin et de la Gastronomie.

1984

LA NAISSANCE D’UNE ENVIE

A 14 ans, Pierre entrevoit les possibilités que peut offrir le métier de cuisinier en fouillant par curiosité dans une “farde des métiers” concoctée par son père à l’attention du frère aîné. Il est séduit par l’aspect manuel et créatif.

1988

PREMIERS SIGNES

Pour la promotion du CERIA dont fait partie Pierre Balthazar cette année-là, l’ambition suprême est de devenir F&B Manager à l’hôtel Hilton, devenu aujourd’hui… THE HOTEL !

1992

LA CONCRETISATION D’UNE ENVIE

C’est l’année où Pierre est engagé au Seagrill par Yves Mattagne. Là, comme “chef de partie”, il découvre l’univers culinaire dans lequel il veut évoluer. Du beau. Du juste. De la technicité.

1994

QUELQUES PAS DANS L’EVENEMENTIEL

Pierre s’initie au métier de traiteur événementiel à “L’Assiette Gourmande” en rejoignant deux chefs étoilés. De cette expérience, il garde un sens absolu de la débrouillardise et la capacité de fournir une qualité gastronomique à grande échelle.

1996

LES CUISINES DE L’HÔTELLERIE

26 ans et déjà le début d’une incroyable carrière comme chef exécutif dans l’hôtellerie… Le parcours de Pierre Balthazar le mène à travers tout le Benelux jusqu’en Allemagne. Il apprend l’allemand en un mois et s’en sort avec 50 phrases-types qui lui permettent d’affronter la méthode, la rigueur et la discipline toutes locales.

1999

PREMIERS TROPHEES

Soucieux de mesurer ses compétences au regard d’autres grandes toques, Pierre participe à des concours ; il remporte une 1ère place au Concours national et une 4ème place au Prix Culinaire International de Taittinger.

2002

SUCCES

Pierre obtient la 3ème place au Bocuse d’Or sur le plan national.

2003

LA DECENNIE SECRETE

Le 2 janvier 2003, Pierre Balthazar devient Chef Exécutif des cuisines du Conseil de l’Union européenne, fonction qu’il exerce pendant 10 ans à l’abri des médias du fait des impératifs sécuritaires. Durant cette décennie, Pierre fait de très nombreuses rencontres. Il se plaît à partager sa cuisine. Sa soif d’ouverture aux autres cultures culinaires est insatiable. En 2009, il imagine, conçoit et propose au Conseil un programme d’échange avec de grands chefs étoilés étrangers. La proposition est acceptée et gagnante. L’initiative de Pierre Balthazar insuffle le goût du partage au plus haut degré qualitatif et beaucoup d’humilité dans les cuisines du pouvoir et des sommets européens.

2013

« THE RESTAURANT by Pierre Balthazar »

Au sein de THE HOTEL, Pierre Balthazar crée un concept novateur, unique en son genre, pariant sur des variations culinaires autour de 9 produits de saison soumis aux interprétations personnelles de 2 chefs « invités » issus d’univers culturels différents.

2017

La cuisine du moment

Pour Pierre, cuisiner a toujours été un mode de partage. Partage en cuisine, certes, mais surtout, le partage de la table ! C’est précisément autour de cette table qu’il veut plus que jamais articuler la suite…